All Guides: Homework Help for Kids: General Research

General Research - Online Resources

Use a library card to log in anywhere or use a computer in the library.

Brainfuse - HelpNow This link opens in a new window
Free one-to-one help online from Brainfuse tutors for children, teens and adults from 1 pm-10 pm daily. Access skill building exercises anytime. Experts also review and respond to submitted questions and papers.
Thanks to the Eugene Public Library Foundation for funding Brainfuse.
Gale In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, magazines, newspapers, biographies and reference books. Includes images, charts, graphs.
Register-Guard (full-text) This link opens in a new window
Text format: 2001-current, full-text
Image format: January 2019-current, exact replica of print version

Encyclopedias

The library has encyclopedias you can check out and take home. Look for the numbered shelves below.

J 030 World Book

J 031 Student Discovery

J 032 People and Places

Need more help? Ask your librarian.

Books by Subjects

Books on the same subject live together on the shelves. A Dewey number is the shelf address for a nonfiction book. Explore the ten Dewey areas below to help find books on your subject.

000s
General works
(includes world records, aliens)
100s
Philosophy, psychology
(includes optical illusions, ghosts)
200s
Religion, mythology
(includes Greek myths)
300s
Social sciences
(includes folktales, fairytales)
400s
Language
(includes hieroglyphics)
500s
Natural sciences, mathematics
(includes living things, space, chemistry, weather, geology)
600s
Applied sciences, technology
(includes human body, inventions, costumes, cooking, farming)
700s
Arts, sports
(includes architecture, music, crafts)
800s
Literature
(includes poetry, plays, creative writing)
900s
Geography, history, biography
(includes countries, Native Americans, maps, explorers, ancient civilizations)
Search the catalog

Recommended Websites

Kids.gov
Educational sites across the curriculum include lesson plans and activities. Curated by the Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies.
Library of Congress for Kids and Families
Log on, play around, learn something.
OSLIS - Research Help for All Oregon Students, K-12
At the library, students may use OSLIS without a library card. Outside the library, some OSLIS resources require you to logon with your school's username and password. If you have forgotten your username or password, ask library staff for help. Homeschoolers can contact Oregon State Library.