This is the "Genealogy - Home" page of the "Genealogy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
City of Eugene Logo Eugene Public Library My Account Books, Movies 

and Music Events and 

Classes Info Hub Services I want to Search Catalog My 

Library Account City of Eugene Home Page Search City Site

Genealogy  

Last Updated: Jun 10, 2014 URL: http://eugene.libguides.com/genealogy Print Guide RSS Updates

Genealogy - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Take a Genealogy Class

Need more help?  Take a free genealogy class at the Library.

 

Featured Books

Cover Art
View the list...
Books to help you with online research.

Cover Art
Faces of America
The companion book to the hit PBS television show.

Cover Art
View the list...
Tried and true resources for Genealogy research.

Genealogy - Databases

  • Ancestry.com
    (Available from Library computers only)
    Currently the most complete and fully indexed federal census collection available, 1790-1940, plus the American Genealogical-Biographical Index, the Federal Writers Project Slave Narratives, the Dawes Commission Index (1898-1914), the Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage Books.
  • HeritageQuest Online  
      
    Over 28,000 books currently available, the U.S. Federal Census Images 1790-1940, PERSI, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections. NEW! Learning Center - short instructional videos to help your research! Funded by the Eugene Public Library Foundation.
 

The difference between Ancestry and Heritage Quest

The two databases are complimentary, each offering data the other does not have. Records unique to HeritageQuest (HQ) include:

PERSI, the Periodical Source Index, is a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,600 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) between 1800 and 2009.

The Genealogy & Local History Collection has over 28,000 family and local history books, every word searchable. Every page of each book is presented and can be easily downloaded or copied.

→ The Freedman's Bank Records Collection documents more than 105,000 depositors and over 480,000 of their dependents and heirs. The primary bank for America's freed slaves from 1865-1874, it is considered one of the most important resources for African-American genealogical research.

Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files. This collection details records of 80,000+ individuals who served in the Revolutionary War and contains both genealogical and historical information.

U.S. Serial Set. A collection of documents and reports prepared for the U.S. Congress of the people and places on whose behalf Congressional action was sought during the period 1789-1969. 

Recommended Websites

Local Resources

 

Contact Us

Chat online with a librarian 24/7

Chat Now or Email
Ph: 541-682-5450
Text: 66746, use keyword AskEPL or text 541-663-4667
Message & Data Rates May Apply

How do I log in?

What is my library card number?
Your 14-digit library card number is located above the barcode.  Be sure to include the 0 at the start of the number but no spaces.

What is my Password?
Your password was set up when you first got your library card.  It can be any length or combination of letters and numbers.

Photo of Eugene Public Library by Vern Rogers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip